Share This Article

Petersen Concours D’Elegance Class and Award Winners

Published on Tue, Aug 18, 2020

By: The LACar Editorial Staff

The Final Day of Petersen Car Week featured some of the world’s most exquisite automobiles at the Petersen Concours D’Elegance, and we have all the winners right here.

The virtual Petersen Concours D’Elegance wrapped up the final day of Petersen Car Week with a bang. More than 20,000 viewers tuned in via the Petersen’s YouTube channel to watch the culminating awards ceremony. The Concours received more than 500 submissions from 4 continents and 24 U.S. states.

A 1937 Horch 853 Sports Cabriolet, owned by Aaron Weiss, was awarded Best of Show, beating out more than 100 accepted entries. The Concours also featured several other classes, including American, European Classic, Special Significance, Competition, Ferrari Touring, Post-War Sports, Post-War Preservation, Post-War Touring, Hot Rod, and Movies/TV Screen Used.

1937 Horch 853 Sports Cabriolet, owned by Aaron Weiss, was awarded Best in Show at the Petersen Concours D'Elegance.
1937 Horch 853 Sports Cabriolet, owned by Aaron Weiss, was awarded Best in Show at the Petersen Concours D'Elegance.

Petersen Car Week took place from August 12-16 and delivered over 25 hours of digital content from manufacturers, enthusiasts, and auction houses. All content took place on the Petersen Museum’s YouTube channel.

“Although we could not gather in person this year, we couldn’t have hoped for a better digital event to share our automotive passion,” said Petersen Executive Director Terry L. Karges. “From the supportive fans to the incredible partners and participants, our shared love for the automobile helped make Petersen Car Week possible.”

Below are the results of the Petersen Concours D’Elegance, along with the expert panel of judges.

Class and award winners:

  • Competition – 1959 Old Yeller II Buick Special owned by Ernest Nagamatsu
  • American Classic – 1936 Chrysler C9 Airflow Coupe owned by Mark Becker
  • European Classic – 1937 Horch 853 Sport Cabriolet owned by Aaron Weiss
  • Ferrari Grand Touring – 1962 Ferrari 400 SuperAmerica owned by Revs Institute
  • Hot Rod – 1932 Ford Fordor owned by Bruce Canepa
  • Special Significance – 1910 Thomas Flyer owned by Jim Grundy
  • Post-War Preservation – 1950 Simca 8 Sport owned by Richard Plavetich
  • Post-War Sports – 1961 Carrera Abarth GTL #1008 owned by Bob Ingram
  • Las Vegas Strip Award – 1959 Imperial Speedster owned by Murray Pfaff
  • Post-War Touring - 1966 Shelby GT350 owned by Mark Lopez
  • Drive-In Award – 1959 Buick “LoSabre” custom concept owned by Barry Penfound
  • Most Charismatic – Peugeot Darl’mat owned by Mark Hyman
  • Most Elegant (Open) – 1953 Bentley Graber DHC owned by Gene Epstein
  • Most Elegant (Closed) – 1936 MG SA owned by David Spiegel
  • Best of Show - 1937 Horch 853 Sport Cabriolet owned by Aaron Weiss
  • PCH – 1931 Ford Roadster owned by David Martin


  • Aaron Weiss
  • Beau Boeckmann
  • Bill Warner
  • Bobby Rahal
  • Bruce Meyer
  • Catherine Sutton
  • Chip Ganassi
  • Craig Jackson
  • David Lillywhite
  • David Sydorick
  • Doug DeMuro
  • Ed Welburn
  • Ellen Bireley
  • Franz von Holzhausen
  • Fred Simeone
  • Freddy Hernandez
  • Gordon McCall
  • Jay Ward
  • Jim Grundy
  • Leslie Kendall
  • Lyn St. James
  • McKeel Hagerty
  • Miles Collier
  • Carl Grant
  • Peter Gleeson
  • Peter Mullin
  • Phillip Sarofim
  • Ralph Gilles
  • Rebecca Nguyen
  • Rob Walton
  • Stewart Reed
  • Wade Kawasaki
  • Wayne Carini

You Might Also Like These Articles:

The 2022-2023 MINI Cooper SE parked in a garage after being ordered and shipped from Europe

The Well-Traveled 2022-2023 MINI COOPER SE

Mark Donahue's Sunoco Car

Lola T70 - California’s CAN-AM Car

the upper part of the book cover for Lola - The T70 And Can-Am Cars

LOLA – The T70 & Can-Am Cars

photo of the book Lola GT focusing on the upper part of the book cover with the title.

LOLA GT – The DNA of the Ford GT40

a palette knife rendering from AP’s March 3, 1981 photograph of UAW Local 588 members with the Ford Motor Company taking sledgehammers to a Toyota Corolla.

Us vs Them